2.0 Organizational Information

2.1     Board of Trustees

2.2     Administrative Officers

2.3     Faculty

2.4     Standing Committees

2.5     Organizational Relationships

2.1     Board of Trustees

The affairs of the Seminary are managed and conducted by the Board of Trustees. Each Trustee is elected for a term of four years. Board members are persons who have demonstrated interest in, concern for, and support of the mission and vision of the Seminary.

2.2     Administrative Officers

2.2.1     President

The President has designated authority from the Board of Trustees, and as such, has delegated responsibility for the operation of the Seminary. The President acts as administrative head of the entire educational and business affairs of the Seminary.

2.2.2     Vice President of Academic Affairs and Dean

The Vice President of Academic Affairs and Dean is the Seminary’s chief academic officer. The Dean is responsible for educational programs, personnel, and technology for student services, and for the library.

2.2.3     Chief Financial Officer

The Chief Financial Officer is responsible for the business affairs of the Seminary, including all books and accounts and audits. The Office of the CFO oversees student billing and payments of tuition, fees, and miscellaneous items.

2.2.4     Vice President for Advancement

The Vice President for Advancement is responsible for overseeing fund raising, public and church relations, alumni affairs, and event management.

2.3     Faculty

The faculty consists of regularly appointed positions augmented by a number of adjunct professors. They are scholars in their fields, performing research that annually leads to publishing of books and articles. The faculty is ecumenical in its faith traditions and is

dedicated to teaching, accessibility to students, and church involvements. Faculty design and deliver teaching which ensures appropriate learning objectives consistent with the Seminary’s mission and academic standards and serve as academic advisors.

2.4     Standing Committees

Names and contact information for committee chairs may be obtained from the office of the Vice President of Academic Affairs and Dean.

2.4.1     Master’s Committee

This committee coordinates matters relating to all Masters degree programs.

2.4.2     Doctor of Ministry Committee

This committee coordinates general matters relating to the Doctor of Ministry program including review and recommendations on matters of policy and procedures.

2.4.3     Pedagogy and Technology Committee

This committee provides a place for conversation, coordination, and collaboration among faculty and academic administrative personnel responsible for the seminary’s use of technology in its educational programs. The committee is charged with considering best practices in the use of the seminary’s current educational technologies, and with examining new technologies and practices for possible use in the seminary’s programs.

2.4.4     Student Complaint Advisory Committee

This committee is appointed by the Vice President for Academic Affairs and to investigate and make recommendations involving student complaints which do not fall within other Seminary policies and procedures. The Committee shall be comprised of seven (7) members. The members shall include three (3) student representatives, two (2) faculty members, and two (2) staff members. To the extent possible, the makeup of the Committee shall be representative of all genders, age groups, races, and sexual orientations.

2.5     Organizational Relationships

2.5.1     An Ecumenical Tradition

Lexington Theological Seminary is an ecumenical seminary of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), enjoying official connections with eleven regions. Consistent with the Disciples’ historic commitment to Christian unity, the Seminary is intentionally ecumenical. The faculty, staff, and trustees are likewise ecumenical, having members from various traditions.

2.5.2     Accreditation

Lexington Theological Seminary is accredited by the Commission on Accrediting of the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada (10 Summit Park Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15275; 412-788-6510; website: www.ats.edu). The following degree programs have been approved by the Commission: Master of Divinity, Master of Theological Studies, Master in Pastoral Studies, and Doctor of Ministry.
2.5.3 Academic Partnerships and Agreements

The Seminary enjoys multiple course and degree program partnerships with other institutions. (See Section 6.0, “Relationships with Other Institutions,,” for details on each program.)

    • The Hispanic Summer Program (HSP) offers an opportunity to study in a Hispanic setting, with Latina/o peers and professors. For further information see the HSP website (www.hispanicsummerprogram.org).
    • The Appalachian Ministries Educational Resource Center (AMERC) is offered for students interested in Appalachian ministry. For further information see the AMERC website (http://www.amerc.org/).
    • Roman Catholic Church: The Seminary offers a Masters program geared to the needs of Catholic students and planned in consultation with the Office of Catholic Education of the Catholic Diocese of Lexington.

Contact Us