Three Lexington Theological Seminary students recently received scholarships in recognition of their work and witness.

Mary Godfrey received the John and Maxine McCaw Scholarship for Prophetic Living, Teaching, and Preaching from the Christian Church Foundation. The McCaw Scholarship Fund is a testament to the commitment to prophetic witness embodied by Dr. and Mrs. McCaw. In their scholarship statement, Dr. and Mrs. McCaw write, “The term ‘prophetic’ is used to indicate a lifestyle that is in constant tension with contemporary society and seeks to eliminate evil and enhance goodness in human relations and in international relations.”

“Mary is an important voice in her community,” said Dr. Jerry Sumney, Professor of Biblical Studies. “She knows how to speak the good news of God’s justice to those who have endured marginalization. She speaks this word in ways that lift them up and help them know their value and begin to heal.”

Added Rev. Dr. Leah Schade, Associate Professor of Preaching and Worship, “Mary has demonstrated a keen interest in the connections between faith and public policy, the ecumenism needed for changes in society, and the necessity of caring for God’s Creation. She was chosen to represent Lexington Theological Seminary at the 2022 World Council of Churches because of her faithful service and attention to justice issues. Receiving the McCaw Scholarship for Prophetic Living, Teaching, and Preaching is a testament to Mary’s leadership in the church, and we are very proud of her at LTS.”

Chris Owens received the Walker Preaching Award, given by Brite Divinity School. “Chris is a diligent student who shows great promise as a preacher, so we are thrilled that he has been awarded the Walker Preaching Award,” said Dr. Schade. “Chris serves First Christian Church in Murray, Ky., and weaves his seminary coursework together with his ministry in productive ways, especially in preaching. Lexington Theological Seminary is blessed to have him as a student and a servant of the church.”

Patrick McKenzie received the Edgar DeWitt Jones Award from Central Woodward Christian Church in Troy, Mich. This scholarship was established to honor the legacy of Rev. Jones, the church’s founding pastor, who was a Disciples theologian, author, and 1901 graduate of the College of the Bible, the forerunner of Lexington Theological Seminary.

Dr. Schade describes Patrick as “a dedicated pastor, a prudent church administrator, and fine colleague to his fellow seminarians” who is “always willing to learn with an open and humble heart and mind.” Dr. Sumney also speaks very highly of Patrick, considering him a student who is “deeply committed to his ministry,” and notes his effective use of podcasts to extend his outreach. Dr. Sumney adds Patrick continues to strive faithfully to “work to make the ministries of his church more efficient and effective.”

“We thank the ongoing generosity of Central Woodward Christian Church and their Board of Trustees who have awarded this scholarship to LTS students for the past six years,” said Rev. Dr. Loida I. Martell, Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean. “We are proud of the accomplishments of our LTS students who through prophetic service in the Church and in the world and dedicated scholarship have gained recognition from these granting organizations for the academic year 2023-2024.”

For more information about Lexington Theological Seminary’s online, fully accredited degree programs for Master of Divinity and Doctor of Ministry students, contact Director of Admissions Rev. Dr. Stephanie Moon.